top of page

Choose to Live...Your Life Matters!

Updated: Aug 31, 2018

In 2006, my life was rocked! I received a call from my mother in law, that my estranged husband, the father of my 6yr old son and step father of my 15yr old daughter, took his life. My world came crashing down...I couldn't breathe...I couldn't think. All I could do, was fall to my knees and cry out to God..."OMG!" Questions ran through my mind, "how am I going to tell the kids?", "He said, he loved our son, how could he do this?"


The day he completed his suicide was a blur to me. But the pain I felt was real and I didn't want my children to experience this pain...I didn't want them to blame themselves for their father's death. But, you see...That's exactly what suicide does, it can suck the life out of the people who has to live with the aftermath of a suicide. It's dark, evil and unfair!


According to statistics in 2006, there were 33,300 suicides in the U.S. (91.2 suicides per day; 1 suicide every 15.8 minutes). This translates to an annual suicide rate of 11.1 per 100,000. Also in 2006, Suicide was the eleventh leading cause of death.


We were living in Hawaii at the time, the State was not equipped for suicides. At the time, Hawaii had no mental health protocol, when it came to suicides. The hospitals did not have an action plan, holding time, and suicide prevention protocols. Fast forward to 2017, Hawaii has a Suicide Prevention Center, The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention has a chapter in Hawaii. Today, there are multiple organizations, taking a stand against suicide and educating the public about suicide prevention.


Shortly after my husband completed his suicide, I moved our family to Las Vegas, Nevada. In the desert, is where God healed us. It took years for our family to heal, but with the strength of our Lord and Saviour, Jesus. I When we moved to Vegas, we had strong family & community support, I was able to attend a Survivor of Suicide support group, my son received counseling from the school district. In 2010, I married an amazing man of God, who loved me and my children. Although, it took about 4 years for healing and restoration. I can truly say, I could not move forward without Jesus Christ in my life.


Statistics show, the suicide rate in America is climbing. In 2017, suicide is the 10th leading cause of death. Suicide rate is 13.5 per 100,00 individuals. Each year 44,965 Americans die by suicide. Maybe, you're asking yourself, why does these statistics matter to me?


It matters, because your life matters...Your loved ones lives matters...Your coworkers lives matter and your neighbors lives matter!




In Life,


Shantelle Renay

Women of Power International

Director/Pastor




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page